General Discussion Triathlon Talk » ankle brace suggestions please Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2014-04-08 10:59 AM

Subject: ankle brace suggestions please
Looking for an ankle brace to give me a little bit up support while trail running. I seem to have a recurring problem of rolling ankles lately!

2014-04-10 8:21 AM
in reply to: wannatri?

Subject: RE: ankle brace suggestions please
wannatri?

A couple of questions regarding your ankle support. I am a certified athletic trainer. What kind of support are you looking for? Are you looking for support on the outside (lateral)? Through my experience I have found out that the ASO brace and the Mueller "The One" are the best. I am not endorsing their products nor do I make a profit from their merchandise. This is just my experience for the past 5 years. The athletes get a lot of support out of them, especially football lineman where a lot of ankle sprains happen (in the trenches). They both provides adequate support for inversions and eversion ankle sprains. It is not "hinged" which allows for a little more mobility. Hinged braces restrict your sid to side motion which is what you need on trail running. They are about 25-35 bucks. depending on where you find it online.

I use Mueller "the One". Works great for racquetball. I have had 4 avulsion fractures on my Left ankle and one of my ligaments is 100% full thickness tear anterior talofibular ligament. I have been waiting a while to get it looked out because of the triathlons I have entered. I will need Ankle reconstruction surgery.

I "sprain" my ankle about once every month. Since there is no ligament to sprain, my ankle subluxes (dislocates then slips back in). It's something that I have been dealing with for about 2 years now. Those two braces would be what I would use. Either or. They are almost identical. I use the mueller "the one" because I got it for free, but if I had to purchase one it would be out of those two.