General Discussion Triathlon Talk » First full sprint by myself, which catagory to enter... Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2014-04-09 9:46 AM

Subject: First full sprint by myself, which catagory to enter...
I need some advise. I will be competing in my first full spint by myself, I usally am part of a relay team and ride the bike leg. My bike times are about 40-43 depending on the race. But this will be my first swim, bike run all by myself! I am a 28 year old "retired" Division 1 athlete, i play rugby now and ride for fun. I have done some trial times and my swim 750 meter swim is right at 18 minutes, bike ranged 40-43 and my 5 k is usally around 32. But i figured i would tackle a sprint alone.
I am 5'9 and right under 200 pounds, pretty athletic even though I ahve put on 20 pound since I graduated 5 years ago...
Do I enter the age group catagorie, Athlena catagorie (for this race its anyone over 160) or the novice since it is technically my first full one?

Help I dont want to make people amd at the race because i am in a catagorie thats unfair... my goals for this race is 1:29! under 1:30!!!

Thanks for your time in reading this and your help.

Kelly

2014-04-09 10:22 AM
in reply to: kstiles21

Master
Northern IL
Subject: RE: First full sprint by myself, which catagory to enter...

You can enter into the age group without angering anyone. Basically everyone is an age-grouper. It's not necessary to race as Athena even if you meet the criteria. You could if you want to though. See what entering as a Novice does. It's not necessary either, even for first timer. Typically possibilities for this this might be having a late wave for all novices to avoid having faster/aggressive people swim up on them, or possibly having a "swim buddy" or "swim angel" along for the swim. Perhaps just a more identifiable cap.

2014-04-09 10:23 AM

User image

Master
Overland Park, KS
Originally posted by kstiles21