General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Time or Experience? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2014-04-14 12:32 PM

Subject: Time or Experience?
OK whats more important finishing time or the experience?
This weekend I competed in super sprint tri. Personally felt like I did bad in everything but transitions, but hten when I got my finishing time I was 7 minutes faster than previous year and under my self set goal. Shouls I put stock in the time or what I felt was a bad showing on my part?
PS Im a total newbie as this is only 3rd race ever.

2014-04-14 1:46 PM
in reply to: geraghty34

User image

Pro
Bartlett, TN
Subject: RE: Time or Experience?

Originally posted by geraghty34 OK whats more important finishing time or the experience? This weekend I competed in super sprint tri. Personally felt like I did bad in everything but transitions, but hten when I got my finishing time I was 7 minutes faster than previous year and under my self set goal. Shouls I put stock in the time or what I felt was a bad showing on my part? PS Im a total newbie as this is only 3rd race ever.

This is one of those questions where you ask 10 people and you get 10 different answers. For me, the shorter distance races are all about time, however; moving up in distance each season changed that. The first race of any new distance for me (talking about HIM and IM) the first race was all about experience, then I worry about time. In other words, I had done several sprints and Olympic races and always had a time goal, but once I moved to a HIM, that first race was all about finishing, same with IM.

Now that I have those under my belt, my focus will be more about time, because I have had the experience. I hope I explained that well enough as to be understood.

2014-04-14 2:06 PM

User image

Champion
Tacoma, Washington

Both, or neither, depending on the event.

Okay, how's that for non-commitment?