General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Podiatrist or other doctor for custom orthotics Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2014-04-15 10:27 AM

User image

Expert
Oklahoma
Subject: Podiatrist or other doctor for custom orthotics
I'm looking for a doctor who works with runners and specializes in custom orthotics. I've been running in the same pair for about 5 years and I really think they need to be tweaked. Im starting to get a lot of little injuries that I think are linked to my orthotics. I've tried ditching them a couple of times and it always ended in a injury that caused me having to stop running for extended period of time. Anybody have a doctor they recommend in north Texas?

2014-04-15 12:45 PM
in reply to: EKH

User image

Subject: RE: Podiatrist or other doctor for custom orthotics
Originally posted by EKH

I'm looking for a doctor who works with runners and specializes in custom orthotics. I've been running in the same pair for about 5 years and I really think they need to be tweaked. Im starting to get a lot of little injuries that I think are linked to my orthotics. I've tried ditching them a couple of times and it always ended in a injury that caused me having to stop running for extended period of time. Anybody have a doctor they recommend in north Texas?

Honestly, I think an orthopedic doctor/surgeon is your best bet now. Most of them in my area do the fitting for those or they can send you to someone who can. Typically, the write a script and send you to someone who specializes in them. I saw an orthopedic doctor when I broke BOTH of my feet at the same time. Stress fractures. Ended up realizing I was wearing stability shoes and should have been in neutrals for YEARS. Praying that was all it was. Have been good for well over 1.5 years now, thankfully! Good luck to you.
2014-04-15 3:35 PM
in reply to: midwesttrimom

User image

Expert
Grapevine, Texas