General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Where do I start? Bike and equipment questions Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2014-04-22 7:59 AM

Subject: Where do I start? Bike and equipment questions
Hello! I'm new to BT and would like to sign up for my first sprint tri late this summer. 34 F, just moved to Indiana and don't even know where the bike/run shops are. I'm 6', 155, 34" inseam. I was a competitive swimmer in HS and just bought a cap and goggles so I could get back in the pool. Don't own a bike, and it's been 10 years since I've been on one. I can run 5-6 miles without feeling winded, haven't tried more, and I need better shoes. Help! Where do I start? I can spend about $1K to get set up.

2014-04-22 8:35 AM
in reply to: MMW37

Subject: RE: Where do I start? Bike and equipment questions
I would start with google and search for bike shops in your area / town.
2014-04-22 8:45 AM

User image

Extreme Veteran
Connecticut
dear lord, you're going to be just fine.
For a sprint tri, it's really up to you how far you want to go, especially since this is your first. Lots of folks will tell you you need a wetsuit. Sure, you won't be as fast as the folks that have one, but it won't matter, it's your first. Swim like you know how and you'll beat 99% of them out of the water anyway, triathletes are notoriously horrid swimmers.