General Discussion Triathlon Talk » training confusion, need experts views. Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2014-04-22 12:45 PM

, Quebec
Subject: training confusion, need experts views.
Hi all,

I'm a newbie, last year did a super sprint tri with a mountain bike... loved it. I started a 16 week Olympic training program about two weeks ago (my first Olympic event for me will be end of August).

Two questions:

1) Last week some friends got me to signed up for my first 10K on May 31st. Now bc of the 10K I thought I should focus on running first. Is it ok to substitute the swims for runs if i use the Galloway run/walk/run. I figured I won't injure myself and still work on my cardio doing so and et prepared for the 10K. Then passed that I would focus more on the swim or just resume the normal training program I have. Any thoughts would be appreciated.

2) Also do you go by yourself training in open water? As soon as our lakes are swimmable (I'm in Canada), I thought it would be funner to go there than in a boxed chlorine pool.

Thanks!

2014-04-22 12:52 PM
in reply to: tsd8

User image

Expert
Is this Heaven? No, it's Iowa.
Subject: RE: training confusion, need experts views.

I'm not an expert but I will attempt Q #2:

Regarding OWS, I go by myself all the time.  But I also swim in a very quiet lake (in fact a channel off that lake) next to the shore line and never more than 1/2 mile away from my starting point.  I go back and forth, sometimes quite a few times, but I try to be visible.

I also always wear a brightly colored swim cap.  I have neon yellow, green, pink, and a white one.  OWS by yourself can be incredibly relaxing but scarey too.  Remember, boats always win the war so I stay the heck away from them. 

2014-04-22 2:03 PM

User image

Pro
Wallingford, PA
Originally posted by tsd8

Hi all,