General Discussion Triathlon Talk » New in CT Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2014-04-29 6:08 PM

User image

Subject: New in CT
Hello everyone. Thought I would introduce myself here as well. I am new to triathlon, hope to find a race this summer.
I would appreciate any advice on gear, training, and best first race for a newcomer. Anything to help me not look like a fool. Thanks in advance for any help.

Eric in Terryville

2014-04-30 1:30 PM
in reply to: egruettner

User image

Veteran
South Windsor, CT
Subject: RE: New in CT
Originally posted by egruettner

Hello everyone. Thought I would introduce myself here as well. I am new to triathlon, hope to find a race this summer.
I would appreciate any advice on gear, training, and best first race for a newcomer. Anything to help me not look like a fool. Thanks in advance for any help.

Eric in Terryville

Welcome Eric!
I don't often check out the state forums, but did notice this.

Triathlon is a blast and there are many choices for newcomers. The Lake Teramuggus series on Thursday nights is friendly and fun. The course is not too challenging and I would recommend that.
https://www.facebook.com/pages/Lake-Terramuggus-Triathlon-Series/112...

What bike do you plan to use? What is your training plan? Do you have any S/B/R experience?
Have you read any books or done any scouting out articles?

Tell us more...
2014-04-30 6:13 PM
in reply to: dtoce

User image

Lots of questions, and I have so many of my own. No formal s/b/r experience. I started running again after many years this past fall and have done races ranging from 5k to 7miles. I was training for a half marathon, when I hurt my foot last month I was stuck in the pool. That is when the loose idea of maybe one day became, I might actually be able to try a triathlon sometime this year.