General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Question about Chicago ITU Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2014-05-07 8:37 PM

Subject: Question about Chicago ITU
So I'm pretty new to the sport, but the Chicago ITU Sprint triathlon seems like a pretty awesome experience that I'd love to do. So my question is, would it be a bad idea to sign up for this? Is this just for the pros and super serious triathletes who train specifically for this race, or can amateurs sign up too in the Age Group Registration? I just want to know what I'd be getting myself into; I don't want to come in like an hour behind everyone

-Stephen

2014-05-08 8:52 AM
in reply to: Jansport93

User image

Champion
Chicago, Illinois
Subject: RE: Question about Chicago ITU
you might come in an hour behind me but I will probably start 4 hours ahead of you. Morning is for amateurs and afternoon is for the pros. The bike course looks kinda scary but it is once in a lifetime chance to experience an ITU race most likely.
2014-05-08 10:20 AM
in reply to: Jansport93

User image

Veteran
Illinois
I'm on the fence about what to say here, so I'll split the difference and give both positions.

If you see "age group" registration, feel free to throw your hat in. If they had a qualifier restriction, they would say so. So, on that aspect, go for it. As others have said, it's probably not going to come around here often, so if you like, use it as an opportunity to scratch it off your bucket list.

On the other hand, about ITU specifically, looking at the course, I personally am glad I didn't sign up because I think it's going to be a debacle. A ride on Lower Wacker with multiple U-turns is not my idea of fun and likely a precursor to carbon repair and medical attention. My bike skills are decent, but I have a fear that lots of others aren't.