General Discussion Triathlon Talk » sore hamstring Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2014-05-14 12:05 AM

Shanghai, China, Unknown
Subject: sore hamstring
Hello,
I bought a new tri bike about 6 weeks ago (Specialized Shiv Elite) and noticed my left hamstring continues to get sore every time I ride. At first, I thought it might be due to my legs getting adjusted to the new bike, but this shouldn't be the case after 6 weeks. In fact, the hamstring seems to be getting sorer as time goes by

A little more information: I'm pretty new to biking; I usually ride 3 times a week, flat terrain, 1 to 3 hrs each ride; I'm in decent shape, 6' and 185lbs; Age = 40; no hamstring problem when swimming or running; I rarely stretch and have never been a particularly limber guy; I got a bike fit when I bought the bike and other than the hamstring the bike feels comfortable.

I'm not sure if it is related to the bike fit, an unnoticed injury that occurred around the same time, or something else. Any ideas?

Thanks,
Rob

2014-05-14 6:55 AM
in reply to: robdmac167

User image

Exton, PA
Subject: RE: sore hamstring
where does it hurt? Back of the knee?
2014-05-14 7:03 AM
in reply to: #4995860

Shanghai, China, Unknown
More in the middle area of my hamstring, and only on my left leg.
2014-05-14 7:28 AM

Regular
Apple Valley, Minnesota
Originally posted by robdmac167

More in the middle area of my hamstring, and only on my left leg.

I would venture to guess that you are "building" muscle. I will assume you are using clipless pedals, and if you are new to clipless you are most likely not used to recruiting your hamstrings and glutes in the whole motion.
2014-05-14 11:14 AM

User image