General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Swim first? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2014-05-18 10:43 PM

Subject: Swim first?
Hi. I am very new to triathlon. Used to swim when I was younger am OK in the bike. But struggle terribly with the run. I have a bad case of knock knees (only the right) which can get quite painful. Specially after gaining 20 pounds due to thyroid problem. So... Would it be a good idea to start swimming (and dieting) with no impact to get my BMI lower. And then add cycling. With a bit more strain on my knee? And then add the running? Or would a 3 discipline on different days approach work better? Thank you all in advance!

2014-05-22 2:17 AM
in reply to: Sofialzls

User image

Canyon, Texas
Subject: RE: Swim first?
I have found cycling to be best for weight loss due to the sheer volume of cycling one can do with minimal recovery.
2014-05-22 2:38 AM

User image

Honestly, and this might sound strange, swimming often causes people to get extremely hungry after a workout which usually leads to binge eating. If you can avoid that, and eat a solid diet throughout the rest of the day, your gold for weight loss.
2014-05-22 6:12 AM

, Wisconsin
I have bad knees myself. So, I spent a long time building up a base of cycling, swimming and walking/hiking on soft trails. I started adding a little short running only after I had lost most of the weight that I wanted to lose and building up my aerobic capacity. It has worked well for me and I'm now up to running about 4.5miles max with very little problem.
2014-05-22 1:29 PM

User image

I would say do whatever makes you happy as much as you can. Swimming and biking alone will get you far in your fitness level and you can even enter some Aqua Bikes if you get antsy for some competition!

Patti in NJ
2014-05-22 1:58 PM
in reply to: pugpenny

User image

Master
Overland Park, KS