General Discussion Triathlon Talk » LSD runs over 10 miles Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2014-05-19 5:57 PM

User image

Master
Los Angeles, CA
Subject: LSD runs over 10 miles
Hello everyone!

So I think I beat my ITBS and my blister problems and I've been running well since last July (2013) w/o severe pain or injuries. I've been very careful about rebuilding my run fitness and now Vineman 70.3 is approaching. I've been biking long on Saturdays and running long on Sundays the past several months followed by a day off with nothing but foam rolling, stretching, and some strength training. I feel recovered by Tuesday morning.

My concern now is my LSD runs are longer than 10 miles. Would it be wise to run 2 LSD runs (say 11 and 12 miles) and then run the next LSD run as an 8 miler to allow my body to recover well and prevent injury or go for a 13 (3 consecutive weeks of LSD runs) and then go down to 8. As I go down to that 8 miler, that will tie into a recovery week as well.

I'm sitting on about a 20-22ish mpw average the past month with 1 speed work day for running (Tuesday) and biking (Thursday).

Please tell me what you guys think. ^_^

Thanks!
Roland

2014-05-19 6:22 PM
in reply to: kloofyroland

User image

Master
University Park, MD
Subject: RE: LSD runs over 10 miles
Your mileage is low for doing 11-13 mile runs - this makes your long run amount to more than 50% of your weekly mileage. That's risky, if you're injury prone. I'd suggest to compensate for this by adding a steady run in place of the speed workout. That will make the LR safer, as you'll be able to recover better, and perhaps will do slightly more miles. If you're preparing for a 70.3, your performance will not be limited by your speed work. That's a long endurance event.
2014-05-19 8:12 PM
in reply to: colinphillips

User image

Veteran
Morgan Hill, California