BT Development Mentor Program Archives » Funked Up Triathletes - Season 2 - Olympic/Sprint Focus - Closed Rss Feed  
Moderators: alicefoeller Reply

of 27

2014-05-19 8:31 PM

User image

Lenexa, KS
Subject: Funked Up Triathletes - Season 2 - Olympic/Sprint Focus - Closed
GROUP FOCUS: Sprint and Olympic Distance

NAME: Jesse Funk

STORY: Hey everyone I'm a developing elite amateur. I've been running and competing in distance events since 8th grade. I ran through college and am now a part of USAT's Collegiate Recruitment Program. This is all just a process forward towards earning my elite license and beginning racing the ITU style circuit. It all takes time, lots of time, so my personal philosophy of training is to enjoy what you're doing. Goals are great and can keep us motivated in certain moments, but ultimately if you learn to love the motion of the sport you are engaged in you will be more fulfilled: win, lose or draw.

In non-triathlon life I am a small business owner, have 2 cats and an undying love of ice cream.

FAMILY STATUS: Not married, in a committed relationship.

CURRENT TRAINING: Training hours vary week by week, but most weeks that don't have an interruption I'm training 15-17 hours a week. Which equates to 19-23km in the pool, about 6.5 hours on the bike and approximately 26-30 run miles a week.

THIS YEAR'S RACES: Just completed my first race of the season with the KC Tri. It's always a test triathlon for me and I got out of it what I wanted to in terms of data. Placement wise I ended up 2nd in the 25-29 Age group and 8th overall. A large improvement over previous years completions at this race.

2014 RACES:

May - KC Tri - Olympic
June - Topeka Tinman - Oddball in between oly and sprint
July - Shawnee Mission Triathlon - Sprint
August - Detroit Elite Development Race - Draft Legal ITU Style Amateur Sprint