General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Northern Kentucky - Just Getting Started Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2014-05-24 3:24 PM

Subject: Northern Kentucky - Just Getting Started
Hello!
I've been reading up on and getting ready to start training to be a triathlete. I've not done much in any of the three disciplines before so it should be interesting but i'm determined.
I plan on starting with simply running a 5k. So I'm hoping to do that in either September or October. I found a few that I'm interested in doing.
As for the biking and swimming I'm brand new there as well.

I'll welcome ANY advice!! I only have a mountain bike right now which isn't the kind you need for triathlon from what I can tell. Anyone have a suggestion for where to go and start for a beginners bike (That isn't going to break the bank, I am a college student after all)

Swimming, I have a nice one piece that I can use for training and a back yard pool. Though the pool is pretty short, so I'm thinking that will only suffice for so long. I'm thinking of looking into membership at Silverlake so I can use the pool, cycling classes and treadmills etc. Especially in the cold months.

Running, I'm going to invest in some good running shoes as not to injure myself and for now I will try the Couch to 5K program (app? Any other suggestions welcome)

Though after I complete running my 5K I will be trying to do all three disciplines a lot more. I feel like a coach might be helpful in this. Any suggestions? Maybe I'll have to go with an online coach? Any suggestions there?

I'm joining right on top of most of NKY's/Cincinnati's triathlon season so I'll have to wait till next year to enter my first one. I'm hoping to start with the Tri for Joe as it is a pool swim which I am sure will be nice for a first, it is also a little bit of a shorter swim than the typical Sprint.