General Discussion Triathlon Talk » New - Advice to get started? (Cincinnati) Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2014-05-27 2:31 PM

Subject: New - Advice to get started? (Cincinnati)
Hello all,
I'm new to the triathlon world and would love any and all advice to get started!!

What would you all say are necessities to get started. From what I can tell triathlons can get pretty expensive, so what do I need just at the start?

Also, any training groups or triathlon clubs around? Any places that I should go for advice? I'm from Northern Kentucky but we seem to have nothing. Anything in the Cincinnati area?

I won't need it yet, but any place to open water swim?

Also any recommendations on a coach??

2014-05-27 6:57 PM
in reply to: LiveLaughSurvivor

User image

Subject: RE: New - Advice to get started? (Cincinnati)
All you need to get started are goggles, a swimsuit, any bike at all, helmet and some running shoes. Tri it out first If you like it then start adding equipment -- wetsuit, better bike, clip ins, bike shoes, more running shoes etc...

It is cliché to see folks that spent wads of money on one race to find out they didn't like it. Start slow

Teams:
Team RWB
Cincy Express
And I think Go Fast multisport is a great place for gear, coaching and lots of insight.
2014-05-30 8:20 AM
in reply to: wrt351

User image

I am like you and also in cincy.

What I have been doing w the equipment area is basically making purchases based on how much I will use something and benefit even if I wasn't doing Tri's.

For example a wetsuit might get used 5 times, maybe a year. Where a good pair of running shoes might get used that much in a week. Things of that nature
2014-05-30 11:26 AM

User image

Veteran
Cincinnati
Originally posted by LiveLaughSurvivor

Hello all,
I'm new to the triathlon world and would love any and all advice to get started!!