General Discussion Triathlon Talk » What do you do when you get a flat in a race? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2014-06-09 7:58 AM

User image

Atlanta, Georgia
Subject: What do you do when you get a flat in a race?
Total newb question here. Most people have a nice compact pack on their bike with a spare, CO2, levers, etc, and it's all nice & wrapped up tight & aero. But what do you do when you get a flat in a race & have to use it? After you are done changing the tire, you have the old tube/tubular and used CO2 cartridges. You can't just toss them on the road for fear of a litter penalty (plus it's a jerk move). So what do you do? Try & shove it all back in your saddle bag? Shove it in your back pocket? Put the tube around you like a bandoleer until the next trash stop?

2014-06-09 8:05 AM
in reply to: Meathead

User image

Elite
Whispering Pines, North Carolina
Subject: RE: What do you do when you get a flat in a race?
I've never had to worry about a flat during a race (knock on wood), but if I did, I'd probably stick it in my back pocket and go. I've seen ppl just leave tubes on the side of the road, which I agree is a jerk move (unless it's at an aid station).

It might be worth it to have something kind of sharp to slice the flat tube to make it easier to roll up. If you've ever tried to roll up a flat tube, the air can still get trapped, making it difficult to roll into a small size.
2014-06-09 8:42 AM
in reply to: d00d

User image

Champion
, Minnesota
Bronze member

Good question!  I would definitely carry it back with me. My tri-suits don't generally have a big back pocket, so I would go bandoleer-style if the distance back is short.   I use a wedge, so I could probably shove it back into the pack, but if I didn't I might also shove it down the front of my top if I still had to ride for a while.

I do have another rule - if I am within a mile or so of  transition I will either ride back on the flat or walk it in. 

2014-06-09 8:45 AM