General Discussion Triathlon Talk » I need ot change my lower body workout. Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2014-06-10 11:44 AM

Regular
Apple Valley, Minnesota
Subject: I need ot change my lower body workout.
I am looking to change what I am doing, I mix up the order. I am looking to target the psoas and hamstrings, I feel that I have a large imbalance between my quads and hamstring.

Currently I do:
leg press
free weight lunges
leg curl
leg extension
calf raises

I know I should probably swap the leg press with a squat, but I don't think I can stabilize the load I do safely (680# 12 reps), I would guess that would translate to a ~400 lb squat, I have tried it on the smith machine and can't get enough natural movement and it feels awkward. I should work on the squat any suggestions on the load and methods to actually get benefit opposed to harm? I do upper and lower each 2x's a week, usually 4 sets, 12,8,8,6(goal) with 2,3 being more weight and the last set at max.

I also know I should be doing deadlifts, but am not confident in doing that safely as well, any pointers on how to do a safe deadlift would be great.

2014-06-10 7:50 PM
in reply to: GotBackup

User image

Louisville, Ohio
Subject: RE: I need ot change my lower body workout.
If you are confident of the areas you'd like to target, I would recommend checking out www.exrx.net. IMO it is the best weight training site I've come across. It has a section with a body map you can click a muscle or muscle group and it will give you all of the exercises that work that area along with .gif images of proper form.
2014-06-10 8:02 PM
in reply to: jchite84

Regular
Apple Valley, Minnesota
Thanks, The site looks like it could be useful in tailoring my plan. I will also try going lower on the bar, to get those stabilizers firing.
2014-06-11 11:03 AM
in reply to: GotBackup

User image