General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Need Some Truthful Opinions Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2014-06-11 12:22 PM

Subject: Need Some Truthful Opinions
Hi there,

I'm brand new to triahtalons. This weekend I am suppose to race in my very first Try a Tri in Welland, ON. About 4 weeks ago my training came to a standstill as I battled what I thought was the flu (stiff joints and extreme exhaustion, low grade fever, etc) After numerous tests and xrays, I've been diagnosed with Lupus. I'm at the point where I feel almost normal again, but I have lost a lot of valuable training time.

While I think I'm okay to do the race if I pace myself, and go slow; my performance will be subpar. I'm quite worried I will be finishing almost 20-30 minutes behind the rest of the pack. So my question is, Should I do this race? ANd if so what should I be doing right now 3 days before the race, keeping in mind, , i haven't been on my bike in 15 days and haven't been in the pool for 3 weeks. Or do you think I should cut my losses find another try a tri and get ready for that one?

Honest opinions are appreciated.

2014-06-11 12:28 PM
in reply to: losingit17

User image

Veteran
New Hampshire
Subject: RE: Need Some Truthful Opinions
There is always another race. If you don't feel comfortable competing, especially with the swim distance, then I'd say pass on it and get ready for the next one. If you're good with the distances but just worried you're going to be slow, well that's what a first race typically is, a slow one. There's a lot to learn from racing for future races (transitions, getting comfortable in OWS, how you feel off the bike, etc) besides just how fast you can go. Only you really know if you're ready to race.
2014-06-11 12:30 PM

User image

Expert
Greenville, SC