General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Talk to me about Michigan Titanium, especially the bike hills Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply

of 2

2014-06-26 11:01 AM

User image

Extreme Veteran
Detroit, Michigan
Subject: Talk to me about Michigan Titanium, especially the bike hills
I've been training this winter and spring with a tentative eye on the Michigan Titanium 70.3 in August, less than two months away. (EEEEK!!!) I've got two Olympics under my belt and have done a bunch of marathons, so as long as I keep getting some bike mileage in these next few weeks, I think I'll do OK. (I'm up to 46 miles and change as of last week.) I'm looking to finish without embarrassing myself.

I'm looking at the maps on the website, but could use some info from people who have done it before. It says the course has "total ascent of 760.21 ft" -- but I'm a newbie, so I don't really know what that means. Is it a lot? I see what looks like two decent climbs on the course elevation, but how bad are they really?

FWIW, I usually bike at Island Lake, which has a few decent hills for SE Michigan, and Hines Drive. Are the "hills" at Island Lake training enough?

Thanks for any tips you can give me!

2014-06-29 1:35 PM
in reply to: #5017887

Subject: RE: Talk to me about Michigan Titanium, especially the bike hills
I think you'll do GREAT! That amount of climbing doesn't seem very bad at all. Take a few trips out Kensington for a couple of longer hills in addition to Island Lake and you will be just fine. Good luck with your first HIM!
2014-06-30 8:39 AM
in reply to: Spartypants

Regular
, Ohio
I have been wondering the same thing about the bike and run. I completed IM Louisville and Rev3 Cedar Point Full along with numerous half-distances. Michigan is new territory and there is not a lot of information about the race. I see the CAT for the bike is 5, according to the research this is the weakest and easiest of all. Thoughts?
2014-07-02 10:55 AM
in reply to: jletterhos