General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Tell me about your first season Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2014-06-28 9:40 PM

Subject: Tell me about your first season
It's my first season of triathlon, and I'm wondering how yours went if you've been around the sport for a while. How many races did you do? What distance? Did you hire a coach, join a team, or follow a training plan? Train too hard, or not push enough? Race on a mountain bike or buy a tri bike right off the bat? What do you wish you had done differently, and what advice do you have for those of us who are new? Thanks!!

2014-06-28 10:10 PM
in reply to: MMW37

User image

Master
Eugene, Oregon
Bronze member
Subject: RE: Tell me about your first season
I've been doing tris for about four years, after running (sometimes competitively, sometimes recreationally) for some 30 years (since age 10) and swimming competitively from about age 10 to 16. During my first tri "season", I think I did two races, a x-terra type race with approximately a 400m swim, 15 mile bike, and 5K run, and a standard Olympic distance about four months later. No coach, no tri club, no real training plan. This was all in Vietnam so all I had was the advice of a colleague who'd done several tris, and the Internet. There was some off-road riding in my first race, so everyone had to ride mountain bikes. I actually didn't do too badly on the bike (by far my weakest sport) as most of the road cycling was uphill, and I ended up second overall. Would have won if I'd had a halfway decent run, but I had done ZERO training for the bike beyond a few leisurely social rides with friends, and had pretty much left it all on the bike. I almost had to walk the last half-mile.