General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Got my A$Z handed to me. Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2014-07-06 11:03 AM

User image

Extreme Veteran
Silicon Valley
Subject: Got my A$Z handed to me.
So I have been doing this sport for a little over two years. In the first year I did one sprint but lost 60# in the journey. Then I was hit by a car while cycling and fractured my hip. I had one surgery to repair the hip which was unsuccessful. Six months later I had a second with a total hip replacement. I was on crutches for almost 8 months and did little to nothing for close to a year. Between the inactivity and a few bouts of feeling sorry for myself I put half the weight back on.

So I have been back at it for just a few weeks when in a follow-up visit with my surgeon he mentions that he "used to ride a little". He suggests we get together and go for a ride some time. So in a recent email exchange he mentions his wife is going to be out of ton for the weekend and maybe it would be a good time to get that ride in.

So let me set the stage.

Me - age 58 - 5'11" - 218#
Doc - age approx. 32 - 6'2" - 180#

I ride over to the meeting spot since it is close but he had to drive down. He pulls a high end Felt out of his car and then throws on a jersey. Across the front reads Yale Cycling Team.

Me: Did you go the Yale?
Doc: Yeah
Me: Were you on the cycling team?
Doc: Yeah for a couple of year...but we weren't that good.

Already I know I'm in trouble. So we start out and he is riding on the hoods and I am down on the drops and I am keeping up with him. Working harder but keeping up. Then we hit the hills! It was like he was driving a new Z28 and I was in a 1973 Pinto.

At every hill he climbed away and then waited at the top for me to catch up. Next hill, wash-rinse-repeat. I was completely embarrassed. If I ever needed a motivator to get back to it in earnest this was it.

In a few month (and 20# lighter) I will ask for a rematch.

2014-07-06 11:35 AM