General Discussion Introduce Yourself!!! » Wisconsin noob... Rss Feed  
Moderators: IndoIronYanti, k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2014-07-06 1:29 PM

Subject: Wisconsin noob...
Hello all, I've been a lurker here for some time and figured it was time to introduce myself. I'm a noob in La Crosse, WI, haven't done a tri yet but I'm planning on entering one soon. There is a couple in my area in late July and early August that I would like to do. I have to be a little non-committal this time of year though in case I get called out west for wildfire suppression so we shall see.

2014-07-06 10:22 PM
in reply to: martindc1

User image

Champion
Subject: RE: Wisconsin noob...

Welcome to BT!  What is your background in getting into the sport?  I hear you on the wildfires...we've had a few small ones where I am at.  I hope it works out for you this year.

2014-07-11 2:01 PM
in reply to: Ron

Good questions, I guess I could have described myself a little better in my initial post. Anyhow, I grew up in a rural Ohio town and we didn't have much opportunity for formal swim lessons, so most of us learned to swim at a nearby city pool. So I was never much of a swimmer. Growing up watching the Iron Man World Championships I would always thing that a tri would be a neat thing to do if I wasn't a terrible swimmer. So about a year and a half ago, at the age of 30, I decided I'd had enough and took a swimming lessons at the local YMCA. Now I am swimming 3 days a week, I'm not very fast but I'm getting better.