Other Resources My Cup of Joe » Career Change Advice?? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, the bear, DerekL, alicefoeller Reply
2014-07-07 1:57 PM

User image

Master
Crab Cake City
Subject: Career Change Advice??
I am seeking some wisdom and experiences from fellow BT members about a situation I might be facing within the next year. Here is a little backround.

Wife and I are recently married. I work in Law Enforcement, she works in medical research. Both currently live in MD but she is from NJ and I have some family up that way as well. Recently, her job has been getting on her nerves and she is looking for a new one. There are some very good options up in NJ if she can get them but she is also looking local. She is very close to her family where I am not as close and I see my friends more then my family. We had discussed moving to NJ but only as a last resort because for me, its almost impossible to get a job in my field up there (I might have a better chance of getting the plague). Lately, she has been pushing the idea of moving back to NJ more and more and started searching for more jobs up there then down here. I want to be supportive and I told her for the sake of our marriage if we needed to move we would, but I cant help but feel a little upset, angry and worried about my potential job prospects and ability to help provide for us. I love my career and have worked hard to get where I am today and I really do not want to have to give all of that up and start all over again ( I am 30). Besides the obvious of missing my friends and not knowing anyone and fearing that I am too old to make a ton of new, close friends; I am worried that I might have to find a new line of work all together and start from the bottom again. I tried to explain the logical side of things (money, pension, being vested, cost of living, etc) but it seems that the only response I get is "it will work out" and "People do this all the time" While I love my career and have wanted to do it foreve