General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Triathlon Hiatus Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2014-07-07 4:56 PM

nashville, Tennessee
Subject: Triathlon Hiatus
Just looking for advice from anyone who has decided after years of competing to take a long break. I've been racing for about 4-5 years and completed everything(sprint,oly,70.3, 140.6). I kinda need to take a break from it for a little while, mainly for my family(father of six- 6years old and under). But I know its going to be hard because I feel like that has been all of my focus for these last few years and that I will almost feel lost without it. Plus, I've worked so hard to get where I am speed wise and I would hate to have to start all over. Does anyone have any advice on how to handle such a thing and ways to stay in shape so that I wouldn't be starting from scratch when I start back. I'm thinking about taking about 6 months off of serious, structured training, and racing.

2014-07-07 9:24 PM
in reply to: mchadcota2

User image

Regular
Pueblo, Colorado
Subject: RE: Triathlon Hiatus
Last year, I didn't take a complete break from triathlon but only wound up doing a couple. I did do a 50 miler which was as much or more training in the first part of the year, but I also did a century ride and a 2.4 swim which didn't require as much training time. I came back this year, much more motivated to do triathlon. You might considering pursuing another endurance activity that doesn't consume quite as much time. Some options might be:
shorter triathlons: say 3-4 sprint triathlons this year
trail running
swim races
stand up paddle boarding (haven't done this, but it looks kind of awesome)
shorter road races: I've thought about seeing how quick I could get at a 5k or 10k

Best of luck and enjoy your hiatus. The trick isn't to stop doing anything, it's just to find some other things to do!
2014-07-07 9:32 PM

User image

Master
Sunny Southern Cal