Other Resources My Cup of Joe » Tour de France Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, the bear, DerekL, alicefoeller Reply

of 3

2014-07-26 6:12 PM
in reply to: powerman

New user
Key West
Subject: RE: Tour de France
Cally me Pollyanna but I just don't see the need to assume that because someone is an outstanding athlete, which Nibali has proven more than once in his career, and peaks at the right time, that he is doping. If you follow the logic that pro cycling is full of dopers, then others would be doping as well and he would still be better than the other dopers. Really?! I am just not that cynical (and I am a lawyer, so I should be). No one but Nibali put in all those miles and cycled up those mountains. Do I think he was "lucky" that his "real" competition wasn't in the race for one reason or the other, yes probably. But, as mentioned, he made the start line and survived, while those others didn't. He deserves some respect. Were Eddy Merckx and Gino Bartalli dopers? I don't think so. Yet they blew away their competition. I know that was many years ago.

All that said, I think Armstrong and all of his brethren set professional cycling back on its heels and there are many that will never look at the sport the same. I am hopeful that I don't have to eat my words in the future.

2014-07-26 8:07 PM
in reply to: 0

User image

Elite

Nice rehash of the last 15 years defending Lance. That's exactly what I said too. I'm not looking at Nibali's race, I'm looking at the last 20 years of professional cycling. The only thing that builds muscle is resistance training. The only thing that builds superior thresholds is endurance training. The only thing that builds both better is steroids, EPO, and blood doping. You do know one of this years favorites, Contador, was stripped of his TDF title in 2010... just 4 years ago... right?