It is elitist
I'm afraid of being embarrassed
This is a multiple choice poll.

2014-08-04 9:06 PM
in reply to: JoelO

User image

New user
Green Bay, WI
Subject: RE: You don't play golf? Why not?
I'm a former PGA professional...turned sales guy now. I often compare golf to triathlon. In both sports it is what YOU make it. Both can be very boring to practice/train but both can be very exciting to compete in. Both are very individual sports as well. In my younger years I skipped fitness to play golf and now I find myself skipping golf for fitness. Both are pretty expensive. In fact for me, I think triathlon may be more expensive. I laughed the other day when I ordered my new Flo wheels and said "I could buy a new set of irons for that much money". Then add in gym membership, nutrition/supplements, entry fees, apparel, maintenance....

But to answer your question, I would play more if rounds took less time. I tend to only play early morning so I can play in 4 hours. Also having golf be more affordable would be helpful.

2014-08-06 8:06 PM
in reply to: Guest

User image

Elite
1st, let me say some of the ideas they've come up with to "grow" the game are ridiculous.
Bigger holes? Really?
I love the game and look forward to being able to play often in my older years.
The game itself doesn't need to change...just make sure a good ranger is out there.
The cost? Well, that's another story.
If golfers are willing to pay the high price, the clubs can do well. If not, then I'd assume the price would fall accordingly.
Personally, I'd DEFINITELY play more if it didn't cost an arm and a leg.

btw, shot a 91 today with a quintuple bogey on one hole! STILL loved it! It was my best round in many years. Yes, I need to put more time in to practice...golf skill is a direct correlate to the amount of time one puts into it. STILL love it.

2014-08-07 4:57 PM
in reply to: ChineseDemocracy

User image