General Discussion Triathlon Talk » How the heck do you taper in this sport? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2014-07-15 8:19 AM

User image

Katy, Texas
Subject: How the heck do you taper in this sport?
So, I've got an olympic tri coming up this Sunday and I have a pretty regimented training schedule. On paper I figured out how best I thought it would be to taper, but now that I'm looking at this weeks schedule, it seems no matter how I plan it, I end up with (what I feel) are way too big of gaps between each sport. The schedule that I have been using for the past two months is as follows:

Sunday: 2.5 hr cycle (approx 45 miles)
Monday: 1 hr run (approx 7 miles)
Tuesday: Off
Wednesday: 1 hr cycle + 25 min run (about 20 miles/3 miles respectively)
Thursday: 1 hr run (approx 7 miles)
Friday: Swim 3,000m
Saturday: 1,500m Swim + 12 mile bike + 3 mile run (typically 24 min for swim, 21mph bike and 7:30 pace run)

So, the reason I have this scheduled the way I do is to space out the workouts that use legs as much as possible. So Sunday and Monday are legs, Tuesday is off, then Wednesday and Thursday are legs, then Friday is swimming (so leg rest day) then Saturday is legs again. That;s why I end up with two swims on consecutive days.

But the actual question I have is tapering. So for a Sunday triathlon, I planned the following:

Sunday: 2.5 hr cycle (normal schedule)
Monday: 1 hr run (normal schedule)
Tuesday: Off (normal schedule)

then I start the taper...

Wednesday: 5 mile run easy
Thursday: 1,500 meter swim easy
Friday: 10 mile cycle easy
Saturday: off
Sunday: race

Now the above looks good on paper (to me anyway). Until I realize that in a 6 day stretch I only get on my bike once. The same for running an swimming....six days with only one workout.