General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Time Off / Ready for next triathlon? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2014-07-17 4:01 PM

Subject: Time Off / Ready for next triathlon?
I completed my first Olympic Triathlon on June 29. I trained for 7 months. As soon as the triathlon was over, I just mentally needed a break. It has been 18 days since the triathlon, and I have done very little in regards to workouts/training. Basically reverted back to couch-potato activity outside of a few short casual runs.

My question is: I am considering getting back on the horse and signing up for the Chicago Triathlon (Olympic) which takes place on August 24 (38 days from today). As a newbie, I am just curious if this is too quick of a turnaround? If I commit to a training regimen today, would I be able to be as fit or even more fit for the next triathlon? Or has 18 days off ruined me?

Any advice would be helpful, as I would like to make the correct decision asap. I struggled a bit in my first tri, and my goal is to improve on my time drastically....I'd be mentally a bit shattered if I signed up, and did worse or even equal to my last performance.

Thanks!

2014-07-17 4:53 PM
in reply to: thomaiii

Subject: RE: Time Off / Ready for next triathlon?
Two and a half weeks off isn't a lot of time. You'll be fine. Probably will be sluggish for a couple weeks, but it'll come back quick. You probably won't be any stronger than your June race, but you shouldn't be any worse.

2014-07-17 4:54 PM
in reply to: thomaiii

User image

With almost three weeks off and only 5 weeks till the triathlon, I don't think you can expect drastic improvements over your first one.