General Discussion Triathlon Talk » 10 weeks till IM - got Plantar Fasciitis Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2014-07-18 9:35 PM

Subject: 10 weeks till IM - got Plantar Fasciitis
Hi folks,

Through a crappy run, I got a minor case of Plantar Fasciitis. I have 10 weeks till IM Chattanooga (my first) and am a bit worried about the run. Swimming I got, Biking I have multiple 80+ mile rides with a couple centuries to go, but my longest run this season has been 14 miles.

I'm determined to finish (even if I have to pop some Advil to walk faster), but does anyone have any training tips? How long does this usually take to recover? I'd hate to lose running fitness...Not super worried about the engine - I'm worried about the chassis :-). I'm in my last build week with 5 Peak weeks to go (that seems weird to me, but I am new at this. I'm following Team Challenge's workout schedule).

Thoughts?

Thanks!

2014-07-19 8:56 AM
in reply to: #5027740

User image

Utah
Subject: RE: 10 weeks till IM - got Plantar Fasciitis
I have had PF a few times and here's what had worked well for me. Get some golf balls and keep them in the freezer and roll out your foot after each run, or when it is sore. To get through runs themselves, tape it with KT tape. You can find the YouTube video that shows you how. I did that and was able to keep running pain free as long as it was taped. Good luck!
2014-07-19 10:43 AM
in reply to: TMan72478

User image

Veteran
The Woodlands, TX
Never had to deal with it myself, but I know a number of people who found relief from Arosti / ART type treatments. Took most of them between two and three visits, but cleared it up in about two weeks time. Apparently the sessions are seriously painful, and you have to be conscientious about working at home with the Lacrosse Ball / foam roller between sessions.
2014-07-19 11:23 AM
in reply to: g_shotts

User image

Regular
Akron