General Discussion Introduce Yourself!!! » The new kid in Ohio Rss Feed  
Moderators: IndoIronYanti, k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2014-07-20 7:01 AM

Subject: The new kid in Ohio
Hello everyone! I'm Melissa. Currently living in Dayton Ohio. Yes I am new to all this. For the past few years I have been running marathons, but now I feel like it is time to start a new chapter and adventure in my life!

I'm still in the learning, planning, making sure I am insane part of this process. Right now I am trying to find my first Sprint so I can get my training going. Thanks in advance for all the help! :-)

2014-07-20 9:12 AM
in reply to: Melann225

User image

Champion
Subject: RE: The new kid in Ohio

Melissa,

Welcome!  With your marathon background, the transition to this sport will be easier.  How is your swimming going?  Ohio is a good state for triathlon, lot's of races (HFP Racing and others).  Do you have a goal on when you want to do your first race/

2014-07-20 9:43 AM
in reply to: #5028032

Thanks! I have been semi looking locally. Im currently training for the Columbus full, but I wanted to start some training in soon as I see the endurance couldnt hurt my running? My swimming is decent. I can swim, I grew up in the water and ocean. Now as far as distance and timing, not sure yet. Thats the first thing I figured I should get in and start with. Ive looked up some training plans, so I guess my next step is to pick a race? Oh and find a bike.
2014-07-20 10:33 AM

User image

Aug 3rd right down the road from you in Lebanon Ohio their is a Tri. They have a mini distance if you wanted something very relaxed to try out
2014-07-20 2:49 PM
in reply to: #5028071

Thanks! Im considering the Deer Creek Challenge sprint tri Sept 28th. Its only an hour away, I am unsure the location but the state park seems nice. Hopefully it gives me enough time and I wanted to get one in before the blizzardy winter time :-)
2014-07-20 4:50 PM
in reply to: #5028120

User image