General Discussion Triathlon Talk » If I'm not a cyclist, is a fitting just a fitting? (Atlanta LBS question) Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2014-07-23 9:26 AM

User image

Atlanta, Georgia
Subject: If I'm not a cyclist, is a fitting just a fitting? (Atlanta LBS question)
I'm new to triathlons & my only bike right now is a MTB. I've been looking at going straight into a tri bike since I am not a cyclist & do not plan to be a cyclist (I'm a runner), so I have no need to go the road bike route first since group rides & other rides are not something I want to do.

I have been looking at all of the LBS in Atlanta. While there is some brand overlap, it seems that there is no "one stop shop" for a lot of the brands I am looking at. As a result, I need to try & compare apples to apples at different stores. To use three stores as an example:

Atlanta Cycling - Trek & Cervelo
Podium Multisport - Felt & Orbea
All 3 Sports - Cervelo & QR

Here's the catch. All three of these places include a fitting if you buy a bike from them. That's awesome, but it also causes a problem if I'm looking for a specific fitter & a brand they don't carry. Everyone says that the team at Podium MS are the best fitters in the city as far as being comprehensive & skilled, and some say that fittings at other places are nowhere near them. But since I am not a cyclist, is anything beyond a basic fitting that will tell me the size of bike that I need, the position of my bars, seat position, etc, really necessary? I don't really need an in-depth fitting with power and stats and printouts. I just need to know my basic numbers & measurements to ensure that I am set up correctly to minimize fatigue & maximize aero potential.

A Podium fitting is $300 & while that may not seem like a lot in the grand scheme of buying a $2-4k bike, $300 can go a long way for some immediate upgrades.

2014-07-25 2:11 PM
in reply to: Meathead

User image