General Discussion Introduce Yourself!!! » How do you know when you can complete a race successfully? Rss Feed  
Moderators: IndoIronYanti, k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2014-07-25 3:36 PM

Subject: How do you know when you can complete a race successfully?
I am very new to this triathlon world. I have always wanted to do one but am battling fear and insecurity regarding the swim and bike portions. I am a competitive runner (club runner for 10+ years) but got plantar fasciitis in March and finally bit the bullet and bought myself a bathing suit and hopped in the pool and started swimming. At first I couldn't swim 50 metres without taking a rest. I am currently able to swim well past 1000 M without stopping and some workouts approach 2000 m. So am gaining strength there. I have cycled on and off for a couple of years but have really amped the spin classes up and have bought myself a road bike and am quite comfortable cycling for well over an hour. I have done a few open water swims at the cottage and those are improving too.

My question is, there is a triathlon I have been eyeing next weekend. 750 swim, 30 k bike, 7 k run. I don't have a problem doing any of those distances separately, I have just never strung them together all at the same time and am wondering if I am biting off more than I can chew. I am sure I can finish it but being competitive I don't just want to finish. Should I just do it so I can get the experience under my belt?

My other plan is to do a sprint tri in a month, 750 swim, 20 bike and 5 k run. It seems more manageable to me but I still am enticed by trying the other triathlon next weekend.

I am very fit, having been a competitive runner for many years. The swimming and biking are coming along nicely but there is still lots of room for improvement. I am running 4 times a week now and swim/cycle 2-3 times.

I just don't want to show up and be completely over my head.

Any thoughts?

2014-07-25 4:02 PM
in reply to: runnermom3

User image

Master