General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Can't breathe in cold water - mental, physical, or both? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2014-07-29 4:39 PM

Portland, Oregon
Subject: Can't breathe in cold water - mental, physical, or both?
Hey everyone! I'm very new to triathlons and although I'm a very comfortable swimmer in open water, I'm struggling when the temps are low enough that wetsuits are (if not required) worn. I come out of the gates well, but usually 100-200yds in I struggle to get enough lung expansion to pull in a full breath and I begin hyperventilating and have to revert to a breast stroke because I can't keep my face in the water, exhaling, for a full stroke (single side breather, every stroke).

Is this mental? physical? a bit of both??

Any tips/tricks to help me break through this issue??

Not asthmatic, nor have any known breathing/heart conditions....(42, if that matters)....can easily swim up to 1mi in a pool, although I'm sure my form can be improved...

What else do you need to know??

Thanks,

ASG (3 sprint distances completed to date; all 3 in wetsuits)

2014-07-29 4:57 PM
in reply to: ASG52

User image

Champion
, Minnesota
Bronze member
Subject: RE: Can't breathe in cold water - mental, physical, or both?