General Discussion Introduce Yourself!!! » newb from Ottawa Rss Feed  
Moderators: IndoIronYanti, k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2014-08-03 10:02 AM

User image

Ottawa, Ontario
Subject: newb from Ottawa
I've been lurking here for about a month and have learned lots of useful stuff in preparation for my first Tri event (yesterday - a sprint swimcycle)

I actually got into this after a knee injury this spring - I've been jogging for a couple of years now and have always hated it. First time out jogging after the snow melted this year and my knee was killing me for a few days, so I decided "enough of this, I'm getting a road bike". I used to mountain bike a lot in my teens and early 20s, but I'm pretty far away from any good trails so have not been doing it lately (also my mountain bike currently has a baby seat on the back). Lots of nice flat roads around here so the road bike worked out great - I enjoyed it a lot more than I even enjoyed running and no pain.

I got to setting various goals (ex: doing 30 km in under an hour) and it felt great to achieve them. I started looking into opportunities to compete in order to give me another type of goal/motivation. Doing big group ride centuries doesn't really appeal to me, and the local TT events are way too intimidating at this point. Basically I ride alone, for 20-40km at a time - and I found the event that closest matches that framework was the bike section of triathlon (sprint or Oly). I used to to be a good swimmer (was a lifeguard in high school) and the local series offers SwimCycle events, so I could do it without getting back to running.

Fast forward to yesterday's event - I had a lot of fun and felt good about it. I was least confident in my swim (no "real" swimming in over 17 years) but got some practices in and got better every time. I figured I'd survive the swim and be competitive on the bike (I saw times from other events and figured I'd perform well).