General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Worst injury during swim? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply

of 2

2014-08-08 1:05 PM
in reply to: rodzilla

Subject: RE: Worst injury during swim?
Originally posted by rodzilla

Like any bloody noses or B&B arms or legs?

I'm doing my first 2 tris very shortly and I'm an ultra competitive Upper MOP obstacle racer and marathoner although I'm new to bike and swim so I could struggle a bit? My swim has improved in the pool quite nice so I kind of wanna mix it up with the pack!! I have no OWS exp and one is an Atlantic city swim but in the bay and not the ocean? How bad is a bay chop wise?Other is in a lake! Is it wise to wann get kicked or punched so I can really feel like a triathlete... Oh I bought a sleeveless wetsuit but not sure if I will need for lake or not? Any suggestions on knowing if I should wear it? Never wore one before either!! Thanks for replys

I wouldn't suggest starting toward the front and mixing it up during your first couple races. No matter how good you feel or how confident you feel, that first OWS REALLY messes with your head. If you start in front of me and clearly you should not have. . at a minimum, I'll shove you off to the side. I've never swam fully over someone, but I've come close. The first 100m is a fight for position, its not a place to be if your new to the sport. And I'm not even one of the fish.

2014-08-08 2:12 PM
in reply to: #5036517

User image

Expert
Charlotte, NC
Limited swim experience and no OWS experience but yet you want to get in there and mix it up so you can get hit and punched? If I'm being candid, this isn't very smart. Perhaps you should stick to obstacle racing.
2014-08-08 2:34 PM
in reply to: Patrick E

User image

The first 100m is an effort to find my rhythm get into my stroke and try and find some swimmers going a little faster than I want to so I can draft off them.

Any 'fighting for position' (what position??) or aggressiveness is just wasted energy.