General Discussion Introduce Yourself!!! » First triathlon yesterday! Now for more! :D Rss Feed  
Moderators: IndoIronYanti, k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2014-08-11 9:39 AM

User image

Subject: First triathlon yesterday! Now for more! :D
Hello everyone! I set myself a couch-to-triathlon challenge 8 weeks ago and yesterday - I did it! My first tri, sprint distance, it was brilliant. Amazed at how much I've loved the training, I can't stop now! Hoping to go for an Olympic distance next summer. As a total beginner I'm hoping to pick up training tips - any info on nutrition for vegan athletes would be great, too

2014-08-11 10:07 AM
in reply to: Katie1984

, Wisconsin
Subject: RE: First triathlon yesterday! Now for more! :D
Congratulations and awesome! I couldn't do it in 8 weeks. I'm not a vegan but we have gotten close at times. I think a vegan diet could be very good for doing tri as long as you get enough protein which is certainly very doable. Enjoy your training!
2014-08-11 11:33 AM
in reply to: #5037981

User image

Thanks, Mike It was hard - especially as all the 8 week training programmes I found online made the (rather incorrect) assumption that I was already quite fit! I just worked up to it carefully and I'm very proud of myself - mostly for not drowning. I reckon if I can find a tasty source of protein that isn't peanut butter I will be halfway there nutritionally!
2014-08-12 9:24 PM

User image

Iowa City, Iowa
Originally posted by Katie1984

Hello everyone! I set myself a couch-to-triathlon challenge 8 weeks ago and yesterday - I did it! My first tri, sprint distance, it was brilliant. Amazed at how much I've loved the training, I can't stop now! Hoping to go for an Olympic distance next summer. As a total beginner I'm hoping to pick up training tips - any info on nutrition for vegan athletes would be great, too