General Discussion Introduce Yourself!!! » newbie from the uk Rss Feed  
Moderators: IndoIronYanti, k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2014-08-11 2:21 PM

Subject: newbie from the uk
Hey guys,

Were to start. Basically I am just getting into triathlon's I know its getting late in the year for racing as the season is already in full swing. I haven't completed a triathlon yet but I have done a sprint aquathon.

So I don't really know where to start, as I can see it I have two options.

Take the rest of the year to work on a foundation level of training and body composition management ready to start working towards ironman wales(Sept 15) from Janurary.

or start ironman training now as I am going to be in Bahrain over NOV/DEC and there is a half ironman distance race there at the start of Dec. Would this be too soon to get up to speed.

Currently I am doing three Cardio running sessions a week ranging from two HIIT sessions lasting 40mins split into 10min warm up , 20mins HIIT, 10mins warm down. The third session is usually a 40-60 min plod. usually at 10kmph on the treadmill.

Also I am doing a 40-60 mile bike ride on a Wednesday with a group of guys from work and also swimming lessons on a Tuesday.

Due to coming back from a lower back injury in may, I also do a lot of pre-hab (stretching and foam rolling) and strength training using gym machines (chest press, lat pull down, leg press, seated row, shoulder press, deadlifts).

Just to top off the list of stuff, I am currently 101kg @ 30% body fat. Realistically I need to get that down to 85-90kg @20%

Any help would be great.

2014-08-11 11:16 PM
in reply to: eul0gy

User image

Champion
Gold member
Subject: RE: newbie from the uk

So one year to a full Ironman and/or 4 months to a half Ironman.  I guess my first question to assess fitness is, how long have you been doing the 40-60 mile rides?  

Those HIT sessions, is it essentially an hour on the treadmill?  How long have you been doing those?  Any road/trail running?