General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Weight gain after training Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2014-08-18 10:15 PM

User image

Subject: Weight gain after training
I started training four months ago for a supersprint and I've actually gained five pounds! (I'm 5'2" and I went from 105 to 110.) I know it's not just gaining muscle because my face looks a little fuller and my pants are a little tighter, too. My appetite has been HUGE since I started working out regularly (running 10 miles a week, biking 15, swimming a mile). I used to eat 1200 calories and now I regularly eat closer to 2000!

Does anyone have advice for how to curb a ravenous athlete appetite? I feel like I've been eating too much, even for my current activity level.

2014-08-19 9:33 AM
in reply to: Carolyn24

User image

Subject: RE: Weight gain after training
what were/are you eating with that increase? 800 cal a day isn't necessarily a huge jump, but if its all junk food then that is different to like protein/carbs type food
2014-08-20 11:05 PM
in reply to: austhokie

User image

Iowa City, Iowa
I agree, what exactly do you believe you have been eating in addition to what you've typically eaten? Have you been tracking your caloric intake?
2014-08-27 9:59 AM

User image

Lafayette, Louisiana
I agree, there are individuals who gain weight after training. Or individuals who gain weight even if they do exercise. Sometimes the more we exercise, our body seems to be asking for more food. Therefore, you should control your appetite to eat more. Monitor your calorie everyday. It may be tiring but it is very helpful. Different methods work best for different people. Since you've been doing a lot of exercise activities, ALWAYS eat a balanced bite of carbohydrates, protein, and fat. A light snack within two hours after exercise is perfect. You may also consult a nutritionist or personal trainer for more information on what to do about it.
2014-08-28 10:48 PM
in reply to: austhokie