General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Off season gains? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2014-08-26 3:57 PM

nashville, Tennessee
Subject: Off season gains?
Am I the only one who just gets totally confused when it comes to do's and don'ts in triathlon training? I've been training for 4 years and I still can't really make sense of how you should train in the offseason. Some say only work on your base during offseason. Some say do a little bit of fast sessions but don't do much lactate threshold workouts because you risk overtraining or plateauing. If you're only working on your base(which I take as doing long aerobic sessions), can you really get faster for the next season? Then I see these guys who made huge improvements over the winter and they say its because they were doing a lot of group rides which pushes them more. I just see so many different types of workouts and it almost seems like everyone has a different opinion on when to do these and when not to. Is there an actual right and wrong way to train during the offseason or is it just a matter of trial and error for each person? I haven't made much improvement during my last couple of off seasons so I obviously do not know what is right. Should there be a couple of months during everyone's offseason where they take it very easy? I have even read that you have to let yourself get a little bit out of shape in order to make further progress. Can anyone give me an example of an offseason plan that worked well for them? Right now I just go out and run hard sometimes and do different types of trainer rides with varying intensity.

2014-08-26 4:08 PM
in reply to: mchadcota2

Master
Northern IL
Subject: RE: Off season gains?