Other Resources My Cup of Joe » educate a teacher about jobs Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, the bear, DerekL, alicefoeller Reply
2014-08-31 5:43 PM

User image

Elite
Subject: educate a teacher about jobs

HI community. I have been a teacher for 16 years now, various subjects and ages 5-14. Before that in college and high school I did camps.  But I have not done any other jobs, and don't really have a sense of what a "real job" is like, or what I would even be qualified to do.

I am thinking of changes careers, mainly because my profession is changing and the demands/expectations are just becoming overwhelming.  My brother always suggests software trainer, but I have a friend (KSH--hi!) that tells me it is a fairly volatile field. do you have any other suggestions that a teacher would be qualified for?

Thanks!

2014-08-31 6:08 PM
in reply to: turtlegirl

User image

Alpharetta, Georgia
Bronze member
Subject: RE: educate a teacher about jobs

What subject(s) did you teach? 

Not saying you could just grab one of those jobs without any schooling or training, but I've seen people move into these types of careers and transition well, without much or any prior background:

HR
Supply Chain
Project Management
Sales
Administration
Retail/restaurant management

I will tell you though, in my experience at least, that unless you get a low-skill or low-responsibility job, I think every career is going to have "demands/expectations that become overwhelming."

2014-08-31 6:26 PM

User image

Master
Eugene, Oregon
Bronze member