General Discussion Introduce Yourself!!! » Starting with a Sprint (or 3) in Oct Rss Feed  
Moderators: IndoIronYanti, k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2014-09-01 1:22 AM

Subject: Starting with a Sprint (or 3) in Oct
Hi Everyone!

I'm Meredith, 29yo from the LA area. I decided earlier this summer, that I needed a new challenge and the SPRINT TRI is where I am starting. This is my first attempt at any type of competition. Although I am fairly fit, my training thus far has been slightly sporadic. I've been running about 5K twice a week. Once a week at the gym I do a swim, bike, run workout (is that called a BRICK?) As well as some Strength training and HIIT. I know there are lots of beginner training programs to choose from and I plan to increase my training until my race in 6 weeks. Hopefully I'll be ready.

What I'm concerned about (more than the physicality of it) is all the details!

Wetsuit: Should I buy a race suit or can i use a surf one? How do you change on race day? foo I need special race clothes?
Bike: My bike is just a mountain bike, but for my first race is that ok? Or should I rent?
Nutrition: What should I have on hand during the race? And how do I store it?

I am so motivated for my first race season, I might even try to do 3 Sprint tri's that are each one week apart from each other! I know that sounds ambitious, so realistically, how much time for recovery do I need to give? and Any tips for getting back out there as soon as possible?

I know that is a lot for one post, but I am so new to this-- I know absolutely nothing. Any and all advice is appreciated

I am So grateful already to find such a supportive community for beginner Triathletes. Thank you

2014-09-01 8:21 PM
in reply to: merdizie

User image

Master
Chapel Hill, NC
Subject: RE: Starting with a Sprint (or 3) in Oct
Originally posted by merdizie

Hi Everyone!