General Discussion Introduce Yourself!!! » My First Sprint Tri- Big guy report Rss Feed  
Moderators: IndoIronYanti, k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2014-09-03 1:00 PM

User image

Subject: My First Sprint Tri- Big guy report
Hi Everybody, I really have enjoyed reading stories of athletes first race so here is my story.
I'm 55 and in February I got an early retirement package from my company after 32 years. I decided to spend more time in the gym but found I was wasting my time working out unless I set a goal. So I started at the end of July training for a sprint triathlon on Sept 13th. I started at about 285LBs although its a little deceiving because I worked out every morning and never really considered myself fat but I knew once I started training that I have to get some weight off to take some stress off my legs. I started swimming 3 days a week and I first I couldn't do 4 laps in a 25yd pool.
Well fast forward 4 weeks, I felt good about so good about my training that I decided to enter my first sprint triathlon on Sept 1st. (300M swim 16 mile bike and 5K run).I was up to swimming 70 laps at a time twice a week and biking 65 miles a week and running about 12 miles a week. I had only lost about 15lbs but I still felt like I was ready to go.
I got to the location early and set up my transition and just hung around and chatted with some of the guys next to me. A few were also doing their first race which made me feel like less of an albatross. You see people of all shapes and sizes but I quickly felt like I was the largest old guy there.(they put your age on your right calf so you could see the age of other competitors. I also had a big C on my left calf which I really didn't need as people could tell I was a Clydesdale!.