General Discussion Race Reports! » Rev3 Cedar Point - Half Rev Aquabike Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply

Rev3 Cedar Point - Half Rev Aquabike - Aquabike

View Member's Race Log View other race reports
Sandusky, Ohio
United States
REVOLUTION3 Triathlon
73F / 23C
Sunny
Total Time = 3h 03m 44s
Overall Rank = 12/141
Age Group = M30-34
Age Group Rank = 1/7
Pre-race routine:

Racing Age Group Nationals was my primary goal this year. When I was signing up for the Oly/Sprint I noticed Aquabike Nationals was going to be in Cedar Point a month later...

• ..My first Full Distance (140.6) was 4 years ago at Rev3 Cedar Point. I've never done an Aquabike before, but it seemed like a fun event... I mean, NO RUN! Time Trial to my hearts content and not worry about saving something! Deal!

• So I signed up. AG Nats came and went (somewhat uneventfully for me) and then all there was to focus on was AQ Nats. Alright... lets do this.

Me, my mom, the beautiful Jenny and my grandparents departed Knoxville Friday morning and made the 9'ish hour drive up. We stayed at the Breakers hotel, which I 100% suggest to anyone ever planning to do this race. Walking outside your back door and into swim start is a huge incentive to stay there. I unload and pick up my packet Friday afternoon. Saturday I swam twice (trying out my sleeveless wetsuit, which I decided to use as it has a lot less restriction on my bad shoulder.) in the rather choppy "Lake" and then got in a good ride. I also drove the course and tried to note any trouble spots. Then it was bike check in and sitting around the hotel being lazy. I got around 9 hours sleep and race morning had around 1k calories for breakfast/going to transition, along with a red bull and water. We watched some of the Full Rev competitors battle with the waves and eventually it was start time! I kissed the family goodbye and headed towards the corral.
    Event warmup:

Swam around for a few minutes, stood around longer.
    Swim