General Discussion Triathlon Talk » bike riding position and fitting - Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2014-09-10 8:49 PM

Subject: bike riding position and fitting -
Hi!

I had a lot of troubles recently as I had to sell my first&only road bike (Ridley Triton C - 2006) ì

While testing a bunch of different brands I was never able to find the "same" amazing feel I had with that bike. With the Ridley, I was not in an upright position, but not very aggressive either, and the handlebar and saddle were VERY high.

I was in a fairly aggressive position but the handlebars were high.

After a few testing I came to the conclusion that CANNONDALE bikes felt somehow A LOT MORE near the ground. And this was disturbing me.

I was missing the sensation my Ridley gave me, when I was riding higher on the ground.

As I am a bike noob I am unable to say if those "riding-feelings" I got are rubbish or can be somehow truthful.

Can every bike be "adapted" to fit the exact particular riding-style (very high on the ground) as that Ridley Triton C ?

With TREK (in particular with Madone carbon models) I had the overall feeling the bike geometry was very similar to my Ridley, as the handlebar was higher, and I was still bending/stretching on the handlebars but staying way higher from the ground.

So should I follow the feeling I had during the test-ride that TREK geometry might be more similar of what I am used to, or should I go with CANNONDALE as anyway I can modify the handlebar during fitting?

I found an awesome deal on the Caad10... to be honest, I couldn't pass on it and ordered it, and I already know I want the fitter to raise the handlebar as much as possible while raising the saddle too... Can the Caad10 be transformed this way?

With the TREK I had instant love with the riding-style but it also was a less better deal, and I wanted to stick with alloy... I hope I'll be able to modify the CAAD10 fitting to replicate the Trek/Ridley I was used to.