General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Made the jump from Sprint to first Oly... HALP!!! Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2014-09-14 11:16 AM

User image

Subject: Made the jump from Sprint to first Oly... HALP!!!
Happy Sunday, my sweet Trolls!

So, I know there's infinite training plans out there, but I am looking for real solid advice from my Tri peers. Also, because I don't really understand training plans on the web... :/

How much training should I be doing, making the jump from Sprint to Olympic?

This is my first year in Triathlon, I've completed 4 Sprints so far, podium in all, top 10 overall (age 25-29). I figured, why not end this year trying an Oly for my final race? Cuz I hate myself, clearly... Lol. No, honestly I wanna see what it's like.

I'm the crazy amateur that usually trains off of how I feel that day. I start every week thinking about what needs to be done for that week, but that's about it. My current schedule is:

Monday - off
Tuesday - 3-4 mile run at race pace
Wednesday - bike 12m/run off 1 mile
Wednesday (night) 1100 meter swim
Thursday - cross train, boot camp class
Friday - easy bike 10 miles
Sat- 5 mile easy run (I'm still insanely sore from weights on Thursday)
Sun - 1 mile swim

I've read a few articles but they contradict one another. Some say to train harder, others say to train farther... I figure I have to do both... But what is better if I have to pick one?

I am a mom of two boys... Age 2 & 4 so training is tough but I'm competitive and willing to put in the work. Also, how did you feel when you guys made your first jump to the next distance? So far, I'm feeling more unsure than excited :/

2014-09-14 11:55 AM
in reply to: #5049956

User image

Extreme Veteran
Subject: RE: Made the jump from Sprint to first Oly... HALP!!!