General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Glasses v Contacts Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2014-09-18 6:05 AM

User image

Across the river from Memphis, Tennessee
Subject: Glasses v Contacts
I did do a quick search and came up with nil...

I ran 2 sprints this year. 1 with glasses and one with contacts. Overall, for me, the contacts were a better experience (except for being able to see what was in the water, ewwwww) as I could see where I was going while swimming, and sunglasses made the bike and run more comfortable.

The issue I'm having is that I am not comfortable wearing contacts at work. As an auto tech, I'm dealing with dirt, dust and chemicals all day, and safety glasses do not stop everything.

So, after all that, I'm looking to find out what everyone who needs vision correction does. Contacts? Rx Sunglasses and/or Goggles? LASIK isn't an option due to cost as well as I'm not sure I could handle watching the procedure either. Fun Fact: Valium and other pharmaceuticals that generally calm you down have the opposite effect on me. Made a certain elective surgery to prevent a fifth child rather... interesting...

2014-09-18 6:14 AM
in reply to: #5051516

User image

, North Carolina
Subject: RE: Glasses v Contacts
Contacts!

Wear them as much as you can.

I made the switch in 9th grade. Only been one week since then I had to wear glasses. Wear them all the time.

But if your just starting out, it can be an adjustment.
2014-09-18 6:17 AM
in reply to: WebFootFreak

User image

Champion
Montague Gold Mines, Nova Scotia
I wear contacts if I'm racing or riding my bike; for swimming or running, I normally just have my glasses unless I will be riding that day. I don't worry about prescription goggles in the pool as I can make out the pace clock if I squint and I usually run early morning or later evening so sunglasses aren't really a concern there.

Shane
2014-09-18 6:48 AM
in reply to: gsmacleod

User image

Royal(PITA)
West Chester, Ohio