General Discussion Introduce Yourself!!! » Hello! Rss Feed  
Moderators: IndoIronYanti, k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2014-09-19 7:41 PM

User image

Oregon City, Oregon
Subject: Hello!
Hi everyone, my name is Steve, checking in from the Portland, OR area.

First off, I'm not a beginner triathlete, not really. I ran my first triathlon back in 1988 in Antioch, CA. It was a sprint tri in Contra Loma Park. I was hooked into the sport instantly, and the Bay Area in the late 80's - 90's was a great time to do tri's. I built up to my first crack at the IM distance in 1999, but the death of my mother that year cast a pall over my training, and I missed the run cutoff by 7 miles.

Then life kind of took over, tri's went to the back burner, and I bounced around the US. I left the San Francisco and moved to Boulder, CO, living there for 8 years, then I moved to Tucson, AZ, stayed there for about 6 years. When in Tucson, I finally earned my M-Dot tattoo at the 2009 IMAZ, which I finished in 16:14:09.

Finally, in 2012, I figured it was time to come back to the West Coast, and I moved to the Portland area. This was the best thing for me to do. I love this city! So now I'm getting back to living my life, and doing what I want to do. This year, I rode the Seattle to Portland 2-day ride, The Portland Century, and the Tour de Blast, an 82 mile ride from Toutle, WA to Mt. Saint Helens. In doing these rides, I've rediscovered the joy of being back on the bike.