General Discussion Introduce Yourself!!! » Beginner to Ironman Rss Feed  
Moderators: IndoIronYanti, k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2014-09-23 9:43 AM

Subject: Beginner to Ironman
Hi All,

People on here might say i'm being stupid but have signed up to run the Outlaw Triathlon (Ironman Distance) next July and it will be the first triathlon I have done other than a sprint distance a few years ago.

My background is Swimming. I can clock a 20:30 1500 in the pool and do a 10k swim in around 2 hours 28.

Cycling history is less good.....I just got my first road bike and trying to build up the miles in my legs

Running is the same, doing 10km runs twice a week at the moment with about a 60 minute pace.

I'm also 5ft 10 and currently 200 llbs so I know I need to drop the weight and hoping the training will take care of a lot of this as well as a healthier diet.

I've joined here in the hope that people say this is doable and to help me figure out the best way to make it happen!!

Edited by Jamescliff 2014-09-23 9:44 AM

2014-09-24 2:21 PM
in reply to: Jamescliff

User image

Chicago, IL
Subject: RE: Beginner to Ironman

It's absolutely doable. You already know your weaknesses, and areas you need to improve.

A coach would obviously be helpful.

I would recommend getting a training plan (I used Don Fink's "Be Iron Fit" plan). I personally liked the structure, which allowed me to focus on just following the plan. You need to understand that this is a massive undertaking, and will take a significant committment on your part, to sacrifice your free time.

There's plenty of sound advice on this site, so just do some research, and ask questions.

Good luck!

2014-09-25 11:41 AM

User image

Champion
Sarasota, FL

Welcome to BT!

You've got lots of time to prepare for your race, but I would second the advice to find a training plan to help structure your training.