General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Garmin 310xt/GSC 10 pairing accuracy Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2014-09-23 9:22 PM

User image

Utah
Subject: Garmin 310xt/GSC 10 pairing accuracy
I have set my bike up on the trainer and this is my first year having my 310xt and I got the GSC-10 speed/cadence sensor to go with it. Tonight while doing a Sufferfest video, it seemed to be working and picking up the data, but the distance and speed seemed way too low for what I am usually riding at on open roads. I was in one of the intervals, HR in zone 5, and it only said I was doing 15 mph. Usually at that sprinting effort on open roads I would be well over 20 mph. Then at the end of a 45 minute video, it said I had only gone 8 miles. Does anyone know what I am doing wrong? Cadence wise it seems to be accurate, just not on the distance/speed. Help! I know I went faster and farther than that!

2014-09-23 10:38 PM
in reply to: KatieLimb

User image

Subject: RE: Garmin 310xt/GSC 10 pairing accuracy
Trainer speed has nothing to do with outside speed. A 100 pound person going 20 mph (lets make up 150 watts) outside needs a lot less power than a 200 pound person going 20 mph (lets make up 250 watts). Now switch it around...

Lets say at 15 mph you need to hit 150 watts on your trainer. This is going to be a workout for a 100 pound person while the 200 pound person this may be an easy ride since they can ride at a much higher power outdoors. Basically, ignore the speed on the trainer. It's just an FYI thing unless you sort of know that x mph is normally your interval zone (based upon past experience using your HR). My battery in my GSC went out a while ago and I've been too lazy to change it since I train with power and my PM sends out cadence too. Speed means nothing if you're stationary and not going anywhere
2014-09-24 6:56 AM

User image

Extreme Veteran
Originally posted by KatieLimb