General Discussion Triathlon Talk » the need to run Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2014-09-30 2:59 PM

User image

Los Angeles, California
Subject: the need to run
ok, I don't think I'll write anything like this since till recently I absolutely hated running but ever since I got into triathlons my addiction runninng/swimming/biking grows. Due to work schedule bike has to wait till weekends but swimming/running became a huge part of my everyday life. and all of this is awesome except for the fact that last week I was getting progressively more tired to the point where yesterday I had to cut my run short as it felt like there was no energy left in my body.

problem is it looks like my body needs a break while my mind is craving more. While an avid hiker/mountaineer and what not I'm very new to the actual sport training and was wondering if this is normal and what do you seasoned people do in situations like this. I tried taking it easier and slower and taking more breaks but while my body is probably most appreciative of the fact my mind is not. after cutting the run short yesterday I was itching to run for the rest of the day and today in the office all I can think of is running even though I'm almost sure my body still needs more rest.

Its a very new experience to me craving a workout that bad and was wondering if it's a normal thing and how do you guys take your mind off of it. over the course of the week I tried to switch gears to stretching, doing some tai chi, reading up more on technique, lifting some weights to take my mind off running but it doesn't seem to work all that well. Unless I run (and at least some of it fast) I just don't have any peace of mind.

I'm not looking forward to injury or developing any long term issues due to overtraining so any words of wisdom are much appreciated.

2014-09-30 10:38 PM
in reply to: #5055508

User image

New user
Sanford, Florida
Subject: RE: the need to run