General Discussion Triathlon Talk » When to incorporate strength training? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2014-10-01 2:55 AM

Subject: When to incorporate strength training?
Hi!

I am new at training for a triathlon. I have been building up my swim, runs, and bike for few months now. I have been reading a lot about incorporated strength training into my workouts, and all the benefits it has for triathletes. When doing these workouts, should I be strength training the same days as my normal swim, bike, and run days? Should I do them in one session at the gym or spread them out during the day? My question is what is the best way to go about adding in lifting weights? Should I do a run and then lift, or lift and then go for a run?
Thanks!
Nikki

Edited by Nclark12 2014-10-01 2:58 AM

2014-10-01 7:18 AM
in reply to: #5055649

Subject: RE: When to incorporate strength training?
My trainer has me strength training 2x week. I do them on a cycling days. I work nights and 13 hours shifts I do a strength workout when I get home in the morning then sleep and go for my ride. If you are a 9-5 worker maybe strength in the morning and endurance training in the evening or vice versa. My workouts consist of a total body strength training.
2014-10-01 8:22 AM
in reply to: Nclark12

User image

Not a Coach
Media, PA

What are your goals?  Strength training may or may not be helpful for triathletes.  Generally, you should principally swim, bike & run to meet your triathlon goals.  You should add strength training in the event that you have known muscular imblances (or an injury you are rehabbing) or because you have other fitness goals in addition to triathlon. 

2014-10-01 8:45 AM
in reply to: JohnnyKay

User image

Melon Presser

Originally posted by JohnnyKay